good words

Matter of the Heart (2 square dyptich)

When a subject comes up multiple times – I take notice. Remember the saying, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” It’s not what sells news, gets votes, or makes people laugh. Though negative words bring some entertainment do they really help? I’m guilty. Another reason I look closer.

The most dangerous weapon we have is our tongue. We can’t always know how our words are received but we must try to show love in them all.

If you catch me saying “You should….”, STOP me. I think that is an overused phrase but often it is taken by another as, “You don’t know what you’re doing, but I do.”

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Eph 4:29 (Notice it says “their needs”….not ours!)

One thought on “good words

  1. Linda Aronson says:

    Whoa, in my time alone with God this morning, He gave me the scripture, “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Thy sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer” from Psalm 19. This is the 2nd time in a week He has brought that passage to my mind and now Eph. 4:29. I think He is now reminding me a third time–so I will try a little harder.

    My dad always used to say….”if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all”. THAT is easier said than done, is it not? At least for me it is. I can do all things through Christ, Who gives me strength. Thanks for prompting memories of my wonderful dad.

    Thank you for your thoughts today.

Leave a Reply

