self-help

Beyond the Shore

The act or state of providing the means to help oneself without relying on the assistance of others.”

hmmmm – then Jesus Calling devotional said, “Do not condemn yourself for your constant need of help. Instead, come to Me with your gaping neediness; let the Light of My Love fill you. Yielding yourself to My will is ultimately an act of trust.”

Messy things all around – still sick, a difficult friendship and all my bills due. I went to the beach to absorb the heat of the sun (in my car) and just “be.” So much needed “doing” and attention – I felt no strength to deal with it. Maybe the beach was avoidance – but I felt a little better and got a little more yardwork done after.

Do you ever say, “Where’s my help?” I do wish life and decisions were easier.

2 thoughts on “self-help

  1. I don’t know if “self-help” and relying on the Lord are totally incompatible concepts. I think everyone needs to rely on the Lord… but that he’s not going to necessarily make it easy. He’ll give you all the tools. Besides, it takes a lot of work for a person to be willing to make that act of trust.

    Chin up, even the end isn’t really the end.

Leave a Reply

