with thanks

...no matter the mountain you climb...give thanks!

Thanksgiving should be a mindset that goes with us everywhere.

“Give thanks in all circumstances” seems impossible, even to me. When God said create art, keep your house and go where I send you, I was skeptical. For this responsible and independent person, it wasn’t just a leap of faith but also fear, doubt and uncertainty with income dropping over 75% and questioning my ability.

Many assume my art brings enough income….NO. A few months I had enough for the next bills. After two years of this, I felt God saying to cash out 401k, shrunk as it was, and give much of it away. I did, with thankfulness because I love helping others. Jesus gave it all, suffered much and I want to follow His example AND do it with thankfulness.

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. Do not quench the Spirit.” 1 Thes 5:16-19

When we are at the end of our self-sufficiency then we can really see Christ’s sufficiency. May you have a thanksgiving that transforms. May it carry through to everyday…even when life’s difficulties come your way.

One thought on “with thanks

  1. Linda Aronson says:

    Wow, you get it!” What believers should constantly strive for–is to listen to God and then do what He says. That is often times easy to commit to, but not so easy to actually do. I’m confident that your obedience has brought you much joy and amazement at how He has provided for you since you gave. Over the years, I have experienced much joy in giving, but I must admit, I have not given as sacrificially as you have. Thanks for sharing your experience, it is a good reminder during this season of Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

