hanging on

Retitled "Hanging On"

Last night was my first at GVA’s monthly art critique. You display a piece in process or finished and listen to MANY other artists tell you what they like or think you should do to change it. You don’t have to follow their advice but feedback is good. Sometimes more objective than your friends and family. Good for all of life if you are open to it.

I felt pretty insecure. I don’t have close relationships with them yet. Many have been creating 30+ years or have advanced degrees – so “who am I?”

I was receptive to hear their responses and questions. More corrections on my wording than on my painting. I wasn’t supposed to say I “faked it” but that I “took artistic license.”

I felt encouraged. Previously used on my in process blog…now complete…

I think…

“A painting is never finished – it simply stops in interesting places.” Paul Gardner

Leave a Reply

