valley or mountain top

"Valley Farming"


A friend emailed that it sounded like I was having day in the valley.

We’ve journed to Haiti together and I know she loves the mountains. The village that caught my heart was actually a lush valley where a little girl grabbed my hand to show me around for the day.

Often we think of a valley as a negative. Yes, limited vision but yet protection. I am traveling a valley but I know God is protecting me. I doubt I’ll ever want a total mountain journey.

My rambling may not make much sense today but does it need to?
Which would you prefer?

A voice of one calling:
“In the desert prepare
the way for the LORD;
make straight in the wilderness
a highway for our God.
Every valley shall be raised up,
every mountain and hill made low;
the rough ground shall become level,
the rugged places a plain.
And the glory of the LORD will be revealed,
and all mankind together will see it.
For the mouth of the LORD has spoken.”

Isaiah 40:3-5 repeated in Luke 3

2 thoughts on “valley or mountain top

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    I have lived near the ocean, and I suppose that it is my preference. When my family visited me, they felt dizzy at the shoreline. They got anxious and felt like they were going to fall off the edge. I always felt liberated, like I could breath, like I could look out into eternity.

    Now, I live land bound. On the one hand it can feel suffocating; but on the other hand, it can feel comforting, close to the fertile earth. As I think of your valley, even though it could be a dark and terrifying and depressing place; I think it could also be like a craddle, like being held safely in God’s hands.

    Despite my love for the ocean and my good memories of it; sometimes I cannot imagine ever living near it again. It almost seems perpetually violent; especially compared to the prettiness of spring in farm country.

Leave a Reply

