more humble pie

Yesterday I posted on the word humble. Digging further.

The first definition is not proud or arrogant; modest but if you look at some of the others, it is almost like telling yourself “I am worthless.” I know you can say, it’s not I, but Christ who lives in me…..but….

How many people do you see around you who feel insignifanct, inferior, unimportant? Not in a humble way but in a self-defeating way.

I have been reading in James lately and then church started a series on James.

The brother in humble circumstances ought to take pride in his high position. James 1:9

Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up. James 4:10

I understand the humbling/humilty and Philippians 2:8 demonstrates it in Jesus being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross!

This isn’t really a personal issue (that I know of) but I’m thinking of so many that still have pride but try to appear humble and those who are beating themselves up in very unhealthy ways or fear that being bold is not a part of humility.

We should be speaking these words to ourselves… you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 2 Peter 2:9, but if we do, that is certainly going to be seen as pride.

I’m over my 150 limit but have a passion to help others see potential, hope and their value to God. If teaching on humility in wrong ways, how will they be the chosen, royal, holy people He has created them to be? In John 14 it talks about the Holy Spirit that will come to dwell in us so that, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. verse 12 And that is a very tall order! Jesus was amazing…how can we do greater things?

So – should we tell ourselves we are “insignifanct, inferior, unimportant” or “chosen, royal and holy?”

Ah yes….balance – moderation in all things.

3 thoughts on “more humble pie

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    Some religious people will argue that even people who have an inferiority complex are filled with pride–but in a different way, or with a different manifestation of the pride, with excessive feelings of insignificance as opposed to excessive self-importance. I have my doubts, but I am not an expert. Personally, I believe some people (those who have been damaged and who are passive or repressed) need empowerment–perhaps via the royal priesthood message as access to blessings, and the blessings would result in real gratitude and humility. Other people need to realize the full impact of their sins, to understand that in the royal priesthood nobody can abuse anybody or is better than anybody–and acknowledging the worth in others would lead to humility of self. I look at people on a very individualized basis, and I am learning that the Bible has to read and applied carefully. Some religious people are quick to quote and to judge: you have to trust God to lead you to the right answers.

Leave a Reply

