wonders of worship

"Good Vibrations"

What do you think when someone says worship?

Dictionary.com states in both noun and verb form worship is about honor, reverance and adoration.

I was so used to worship being about the music or the stance but it so much bigger…

People tend to get caught up in where they should worship, what music they should sing in worship, and how the worship looks to other people. Focusing on these things completely misses the point. Jesus tells us that true worshipers will worship God in spirit and in truth (John 4:24).

I was thinking of David…so focused and lost in his worship he was dancing in what appeared inapproriate to Michal, his wife – but a joy to God.

Unencombered by what other’s might think. Unrestricted in movement and voice.

Loving the Lord your God with all of your heart, soul, mind and strength is found in Old Testament and New…God’s definition stays constant.

5 thoughts on “wonders of worship

  1. excogitatingengineer says:

    Nice. Most people refer to the music when they speak of worship but I’ve always thought that the service of worship was about the preaching of God’s Word and worship in general is living a life of faithful obedience to Christ. Just by 2 cents worth.

  2. I would press the “like” button about a hundred times for this entry! I love it. My definition of “worship” is the greatest command, as given by Jesus, which you quoted. Which is why I believe that worship is the ultimate priority of the church.

    • Not to nitpick words but do you mean “church” as in corporate group or as in personal body? I’m finding many who do feel that corporately but not personally. thanks Bickley

  3. Good question. As I pondered the answer, I believe that I mean both. As a corporate body, we must worship God before we attempt anything else. But as individuals, pieces of the larger body, I believe that this is also true. Perhaps that is why it is so important to me to begin my day with worship.

Leave a Reply

