the movement of worship

"Peaceful Reflections"

Lately God says to REST.

Maybe you’re like me with a long TO-DO list and feel good when you accomplish things. If I’m idle long, I’m thinking, “I should really be doing…..!”

This made me think about the action of worship.

Some, like David, are very active, others face down in awe and some just sitting quietly in His presence, which I enjoy on the patio. Even my sweaty work in the gardens brings peace and awe.

“Be still, and know that I am God… Psalm 46:10

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.
Colossians 3:15-18

I pray your weekend and worship have just the right movement!

3 thoughts on “the movement of worship

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    Your example of David and your choice of Scripture quotations are very well coordinated. Sometimes when I am working–even housework or doing some heavy physical work outside (yes, even at my age!), I seem to lose myself in the work and I feel at peace, almost like being in church and praying. It is only as I have gotten older that I have learned to rest–I no longer have the energy to stay active (physically) for more than half the day. I have to be still and quiet–and just enjoy the silence, pray, read the Bible, and re-energize myself.

  2. I love this post.
    I have been practicing to be still in the presence of God. I often picture myself sitting on Jesus’s lap with my head on His shoulder. That is my happy place.

Leave a Reply

