lost along the way

"Dreaming Fields" preferred title "It's All a Dream"

Do you feel like you’re pulled in too many directions? Trying to please a boss, spouse, kids, neighbors, friends, relatives and somewhere in there God.

Your self-examinations say, “You’re not doing it right.” Others chime in, “I think you should have….” (Which really means, you goofed.)

One of the reasons I get lost in painting and writing is to decompress.

Some creations I compare and try to measure up to others. The goal switches from peace and freedom to results, perfection and acceptance.

My art is returning to being a place of expression, dreaming and experiencing as God guides my hand. The piece is installed for ArtPrize’s HUGE exbition. Not all will like but whe God is leading – it feels right.

Since you are my rock and my fortress,
for the sake of your name lead and guide me.
Free me from the trap that is set for me,
for you are my refuge.
Into your hands I commit my spirit;
redeem me, O LORD, the God of truth.
Psalm 31:3-5

12 thoughts on “lost along the way

  1. I love your message and your painting – BEAUTIFUL
    It reminds me of the Big Daddy Weave song: Fields of Grace
    I can see you dancing with your Father God

    Field of Grace

    There’s a place that I love to run and play
    There’s a place that I sing new songs of praise

    Dancin’ with my Father God in fields of grace

    There’s a place that I lose myself within
    There’s a place that I find myself again

    Dancin’ with my Father God in fields of grace

    There’s a place where religion finally dies
    There’s a place that I lose my selfish pride

    Dancin’ with my Father God in fields of grace

    I love my Father, my Father loves me
    I dance for my Father, my Father sings over me

    And nothing can take that away from me

  2. Aunt Melanie says:

    Some people will view a painting as an expression or extension of the artist, as a way of getting to know another person and to walk in their shoes, to see life from their perspective. Others will view a painting as an object of art, something to be analyzed according to color and design, according to the changing standards of each era, according to personal taste.

    I also analyze according to color and design–certain elements of beauty–and you always excel at that. But, most of all, I enjoy getting to know you through the visual representation of your heart and mind and spirit.

    This painting reminds me a little of Renoir, but with more clarity and vitality and (may I say it?) more purity. The feeling of movement is invigorating, and this seems to be your particular gift–to creat that sensation of aliveness and hope. This painting is, truly, perfect; even though you were not focusing on perfection.

    • Very true points about perspective. Depending on our journey. Somedays I look at technique and others I’m “feeling” what is there. You read me very well Melanie and enjoy your feedback immensely. Blessings to you

  3. As I stood admiring your painting yesterday, I heard two women comment, how beautiful this painting is. They were drawn to the reds.

    To see this in real life is AMAZING. I gave you a thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

