sweet retreat

"Sweet Retreat" Oil on canvas 16x20

On this trip I probably will have spent more time driving than kayaking. To me, driving can be a place of rest and often my best conversations with God.

Solitude, scenery and soul searching as the colors make their changes along the countryside.

With God leading, I know even a wrong turn will turn out right. There will not be any “recalculating” voices to interrupt our time.

God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you!
I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.

So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;
My arms wave like banners of praise to you.

Psalm 63:1-4 Message

3 thoughts on “sweet retreat

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    For those of us who love nature, and who feel close to God in the outdoors as we do in church, this painting also makes me feel: “So here I am in the place of worship.”

Leave a Reply

