the chase

My pondering last night was on why so many would follow after Jesus.

What were they seeing?
What were they seeking?

Walking the Hills of Haiti

Some thought He was the Messiah and wanted to be near the King.
Others saw His miracles of healing and wanted that for their lives.
Most, even His disciples, did not understand His stories so you wouldn’t say speaking was His claim to fame at that time. There was no TV, NPR or social media to tell everyone, yet thousands would show up.

What drew them in?
How did they hear?
Where did they come from?

To some He was danger. A disruption to their orderly rules. They wanted to silence Him, to kill Him, to stop what they didn’t understand.

Are you chasing Him?

What are you seeing?
What are you seeking?

13 thoughts on “the chase

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    As I have gotten older, I am only seeking forgiveness and liberation. The accumulation of sins and years behind me is too much to bear. It makes me neurotic. So, I am learning to follow Jesus all over again.

    • Pray for a new revelation of this verse John 8:36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. Fabulous chapter! He does not throw stones and HE was without sin.

      Read His word with new purpose because we are not supposed to accumulate a tally of our sins. He took on ALL sin, past, present, future FOR ALL on the cross. Even for those who don’t YET believe. You believe in Jesus A.M., you have been brought in fully to His family!

      Psalm 103
      8 The LORD is compassionate and gracious,
      slow to anger, abounding in love.
      9 He will not always accuse, (that is the deceiver)
      nor will he harbor his anger forever;
      10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve (grace)
      or repay us according to our iniquities. (Jesus took our punishment)
      11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
      so great is his love for those who fear him;
      12 as far as the east is from the west, (they never meet…never)
      so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

      I agree 100% with you on the learning to follow Jesus all over again. If we get complacent or yes…content….with our standing or relationship we are missing out on that abundant life He has planned.

      I love you dear sister!

  2. Aunt Melanie says:

    If anything, let me be counted as the one leper out of ten who turned back to say thank you.

    Thank you, Judi, and God bless you. I copied and pasted your words into my computer and will study and meditate on them.

  3. I really enjoy reading your blog.
    I love that your posts are short, you include images.
    Also I love that your words encourage me to ponder.
    I think what I am seeking for me and my kids is love and acceptance for who we are. Also to learn to live in the unconditional love and acceptance of Christ. Seeking deep, intimate, open and honest friendship in Jesus.
    Thank you for your post, it has helped me today.
    Love and hugs. Lisa. xx 🙂

  4. I am chasing Jesus (some days more intensely than others) and all I am seeking is Jesus. I realize how pretentious that sounds, but I don’t mean it that way at all. I want to give him my whole life. I don’t want to be seeking anything other than him.

    • Not pretentious Jeff. “In this world but not of it” is difficult. Many things cry for our attention but only He is worthy of our heart, soul, mind and strength. Press on valiant one!

Leave a Reply

