try this one

A great salesperson knows just what you need. Maybe its a friend, spouse or parent.

Clothes, cars, TVs and more in our product rich country. But it’s not just stuff that people are trying to sell you on.

How many times in a day are people trying to sell us a belief system?

My friend says…
My family does…
The Pastor claims…
This commercial…
I read…
The news showed…my neighbor thinks…mom always said…

Did you see on Facebook?

We listen to a lot that is not what God would say.

Do not follow other gods, the gods of the peoples around you; for the LORD your God, who is among you, is a jealous God and his anger will burn against you, and he will destroy you from the face of the land.
Deuteronomy 6:14

Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Matthew 10:38

He replied: “Watch out that you are not deceived. For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am he,’ and, ‘The time is near.’ Do not follow them. Luke 21:8

1 Corinthians 3 build – test – ask

2 thoughts on “try this one

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    I was just thinking about that same thing! I was thinking that even some people who believe in God have a certain irrationality about them: because they are selling God or a religiion rather than following Christ. And, this causes me a lot of distress, especially if they are friends or authority figures. I was also thinking about reading Deuteronomy more carefully!

    Last week, I had to go to a large electronic store and buy a new printer. Two sales people waited on me: a young woman and a young man. I was interested in a printer that was on sale. They explained it to me and showed me how it worked, and were quite honest and friendly. I think they knew that the best way for the store to build a good reputation was to be honest about the product. Or maybe they just thought I was an old lady who could be their grandmother!

    Anyway, Christianity should be presented that way: honestly and in a friendly manner. But, I feel it is often presented from a personal drive or compulsion, and warped to fit the irrationality of the individual or the denomination. And, the irrationality is not always easy to detect. The toxicity is usually felt before it is cognitively figured out. In other words, it makes you sick. Then, you either get sicker and stuck, or a light shines and you decide to follow the biblical Christ in humility and gratitude.

Leave a Reply

