kindred spirits

The spirit of competition can arise in a negative fashion in any place.

“We should have won.”
“Mine’s better.”

Tonight was a Christmas gathering and opening reception for an art group I’m in. The people are very genuine and humble but the exhibition is still a competition.

I saw a great piece using watercolor on Yupo paper like the paintings I’ve shared this week. A medium where the paint does more of the work than the artist!

It made me think of how God does the work for us and the great competition that tries to continue in the spirit world “The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14

I also noticed searching on fighting and battle…most references were Old Testament. At the cross, Jesus said, “It is finished.”

For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves. Colossians 1:13

I’ll stick with the winning team – thanks!

4 thoughts on “kindred spirits

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    Such an unusual theme and combination of Bible verses! Yet, it all fits together. Exodus 14:14–I always had difficulty understanding that concept. It usually comes across as an oppressive rather than protective message. Thank you for your insight.

  2. Exodus14:14 is one of my favorite verses.
    Your painting gives me a feeling about how I feel in life. Often alone with firey memories surrounding me. However, I continue to manuever my boat toward a peaceful sunset.

Leave a Reply

