success or failure

Peaceful Reflections - Sold

My daily manna verse was from Luke 1:35-48
Reading this familiar story these points grabbed my attention.

37 “For no word from God will ever fail.” – Angel

38 “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.

45 “Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!” – Elizabeth filled with the Holy Spirit

Where did Mary get such faith?

Is Elizabeth always filled with the Spirit?

Do angels still come with messages?

This first question had me turn to Isaiah 55 vs 11 “So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” – declares the Lord

I’m off to dig a little deeper. Please feel free to share your thoughts or knowledge.

2 thoughts on “success or failure

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    Those verses deal with a very holy group of people. Mary was exceptional, which is why she was chosen to be the mother of Jesus. Her purity was above all other women throughout history and she continues to be unsurpassed in holiness. In the Catholic tradition, Jesus, Joseph, and Mary are known as the Holy Family, and indeed they were (and are). It seems that Elizabeth also shares in this kind of holiness, as does St. John the Baptist.

    I do not know if angels still visit people. I think we each have a Guardian Angel who watches over us–but we are probably unaware as to how many times our Angel has protected us and kept us out of harm’s way.

    • Yes – and all of those are before Christ’s death and resurrection. After that even those not pure were made holy. The Word definitely comes to life when you study it. Bless you A.M.

Leave a Reply

