alone in a crowd

Sometimes even with others in the house, ALONE screams out to taunt us.

Some friends who are married with kids talk about feeling alone. I can’t relate since I AM alone – it’s just me and two fuzzy felines. Some days the phone doesn’t ring, my email scrabble partner is out of touch and my dinner out gets cancelled.

We all feel isolation at times no matter who is around. We have a part of our soul that we want to share with others. We NEED to share…and we need to know we matter.

In our culture we don’t find a lot of undivided attention anymore…and I caught myself doing that Christmas day…sorry Marjorie.

If your bluetooth is to your ear, your iphone, reader or TV are keeping you from talking – or more importantly LISTENING – STOP!!

Take some time to unplug – people matter!

PS – If planning a nice dinner out – make it one where there are not 20 screens on the wall!

13 thoughts on “alone in a crowd

  1. I appreciate dyadic conversation, getting to know the heart of another and being listened to. I have been ignored a lot of my life and I make communication a priority in my life. Alone is too familiar to me and I try to snuff it out as if it were a fire.

  2. Aunt Melanie says:

    Yes, people matter. I agree 99 percent: my only disagreement is that my plugged-in relationships (i.e., blogging and e-mail) are my lifeline. I am isolated because I live in geographical isolation. You are probably the most alone-person I know besides myself. Yet, I also know people who feel alone even within family and social groups. I think some people are psychologically and spiritually disconnected despite relationships and proximity, some people are pampered and complain a lot, some people have a lot of responsibilities and are stretched too far, and some people are simply rejected by the mainstream.

    Even among Christian bloggers, people can be insensitive and thoughtless. I hope I do not offend anyone. We all have our flaws, and sometimes we are quite unaware of the impact we have on others. For those who feel rejected, let me offer the following:

    “Blessed are you when people hate you, and when they exclude and insult you, and denounce your name as evil on account of the Son of Man. Rejoice and leap for joy on that day! Behold, your reward will be great in heaven. For their ancestors treated the prophets in the same way.” (Luke 6: 22-23)

  3. I shake my head when I see people walking around everywhere with their bluetooth in their ear. I think they think it makes them important. I’ve said it before…in this age where we are so “connected,” I think we are more “disconnected” than ever.

    • Aunt Melanie says:

      Jeff, I think you are right. Gadgets probably serve as status symbols, making us feel competent and up-to-date. For some, gadgets are probably addictive–tweeting, texting, etc. I remember when I worked in the city for ‘the firm,’ our status symbol was to carry a leather briefcase. Well…at least, the briefcase served a practical purpose even though we overpaid for them.

      • The most humorous was being in a remote area of Guatemala. We don’t bring our phones. Electricity is not normal and yet a phone rings. what?? A woman reaches in the top of her dress and pulls out a cell phone. A great way to connect mountain to mountain but shocked me.

  4. Steven Sawyer says:

    I have been in a crowd of 300+ people (At Church) and felt like I was the only person in the room. Isolation is not easy to feel. It is more painful to deal with. I agree. We need other people. Not just spouses (although mine is a great companion and friend). We need intimate, personal, accountable friends of the same gender. Those guys have been real blessings to me. I can definitely relate to you. I’ve been there. I hope you can keep from going there too often. Fortunately, I don’t have a bluetooth or iphone or other devices to distract me. And you’re right we can all do more listening and less entertaining ourselves with video games, ipods, TV, cable, and do more talking. All the distractions we have now are spreading us farther and farther apart. Thank you for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

