to be in prayer

I’m reading One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. It was given to me by someone at church. Later that day as I looked up another book, this one was highly recommended and I had never heard of it.

From page 60 – Chapter 3 – impacting and I’ve only just begun…

~~~
Prayer, to be in prayer, to have any power to change anything, must first speak thanks: “in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God” (Philippians 4:6 NIV, emphasis added). “First, I tell you to pray for all people, asking God for what they need and being thankful to him” (1 Timothy 2:1 NCV, emphasis addded.)

Prayer without ceasing is only possible in a life of continual thanks.

How did I ever think there was another way to enter into His courts but with thanksgiving?
~~~

Even with computer issues – I am thankful…

6 thoughts on “to be in prayer

    • I was very thankful to find in my bad year journal that I was still writing many prayers of thanks. I too need to remember – Jesus gave thanks before breaking the bread and it fed thousands!

Leave a Reply

