hey I’m bored

Have you heard that lately?
Are you the one feeling it?

Recently someone told me they were bored. I said, “What does that mean to you?” Basically they were lonely.

The first recorded use of the word boredom is in the novel Bleak House by Charles Dickens, written in 1852. Wikipedia

When people say they are Christian, I also wonder.

The term Christian was first used for the disciples (Acts 11) but how many people say they are disciples of Jesus?

Many know me by now, questions arise and I share my internal reasoning.

Paul writes – My purpose is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of COMPLETE UNDERSTANDING, in order that they may KNOW THE MYSTERY of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.
Colossians 2:2-3

understanding – mystery – hidden – wisdom – knowledge

I’m still wondering – but I’m NOT bored!!

4 thoughts on “hey I’m bored

  1. Aunt Melanie says:

    As always, you have a way of taking seemingly unrelated elements and connecting them into a meaningful whole. As I read your Colossians quotation, I felt like I had never read that passage before. The “riches of complete understanding” would have to be the opposite of boredom. And, “the mystery of God, namely Christ” would be the opposite of lonliness.

    Keep sharing your internal reasonings…..

Leave a Reply

