writing in the dust

When we get busy we still have priorities of what must be done and what can wait until later. I have been redoing those a bit lately. For me – dusting can always wait! I’ll still tackle cat hair but not window sills.

I have moved back into the office from the studio (kitchen) and am actually enjoying it. I get to look out the window as I did years ago and see how dreams for my landscape came to life.

Lately I’m getting back to that priority of dreaming with God of what the next chapter will look like as we move forward.

For instance, we know that when these bodies of ours are taken down like tents and folded away, they will be replaced by resurrection bodies in heaven—God-made, not handmade—and we’ll never have to relocate our “tents” again. Sometimes we can hardly wait to move—and so we cry out in frustration. Compared to what’s coming, living conditions around here seem like a stopover in an unfurnished shack, and we’re tired of it! We’ve been given a glimpse of the real thing, our true home, our resurrection bodies! The Spirit of God whets our appetite by giving us a taste of what’s ahead. He puts a little of heaven in our hearts so that we’ll never settle for less. 2 Corinthians 5:1-5

8 thoughts on “writing in the dust

  1. I had to laugh at your opening lines. Same here. The dog hair blowing across the tile floors like tumbleweeds drives me to the broom. But the window sills…..well, I just did them last week and it’s been, lets just say a really long time 😉
    Your passage so encouraging again. I’m sharing it with friends I know are caught in a waiting situation. Timely, all of it!

    • funny to me because today….I did dust windowsills but not in the office….on the 3 season porch since the weather feels like spring. I pray His word brings new hope and patience for His perfect timing!

  2. Aunt Melanie says:

    Sometimes, our priorities have to shift. I just repaired a shelf in my laundry room–it’s been that way for 10 years, but it was never a priority even though it bothered me. My “living conditions” or my environment are important to me, but not as important as reading and writing. Generally, I keep a clean house, but tending to my mind and heart is more essential. When I was younger, I could do ‘marathon’ housework and get it all done in a 24-hour period. Now, I am older and I have to break it down into manageable jobs–giving priority to my spiritual life first.

    • I like those manageable parts too. A little here a little there….ooops I got distracted – AND it IS ok! Permission for ourselves can be the hardest part. Peace to you Melanie as you absorb even more!

  3. Steven Sawyer says:

    I envy you. I don’t really do priorities. I have more than not flown by the seat of my Wranglers most of my life (to my detriment at times). I guess it’s never too late (I’m now 65 and out of the work force). But I just don’t want to. I’d rather wear faded jeans than work at struggling to bring order to my tasks. Is that sad or what? Oh well, as they say, whatever fades your jeans. On another note, I absolutely love your art work. And I admire you for bringing order to your life. God still loves me, and I’m in His will and His plan for my life. And I’m discovering that He can still impact my life no matter which direction I travel, because He’s always there for me. Hey, I just thought: I let Him order my life. Isn’t it a blessing that all God’s children can be so diverse and different and He can still find use for us. Praise God. You have a blessed day in God’s perfect love.

    • I’m in recover Steven…I used to be a control freak but God in His grace has taught me how to let Him lead and be more like you!! May your days be blessed in amazing ways too!

Leave a Reply

