new creations

 

If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! 2 Corinthians 5:17

Are you a new creation?

If so, how do you describe the new that came to you?

In the Bible, those who really encountered and embraced Jesus were changed; the disciples, Legion, the bleeding woman, the man at the gate, Paul, the woman at the well.

In some you see the change in attitude, several it was vocation and even more it was health. Most were not subtle. Then even further changes when the Spirit – Counselor taught them more.

The teachers of the law, Sadducees and Pharisees encountered Jesus. Why no change? 

At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. Yes, Father, for this was your good pleasure. Matthew 11:25-26

Help us Lord to be like children…
open to possibilities…
waiting in expectation…
eager to learn and experience more of You. 

4 thoughts on “new creations

  1. I like your description of children. I have heard that passage interpreted to mean that we should be dependent on and trust in God like children. But, I never heard anyone use the words “open to possibilities,” or “expectation.” Children–if they have not already been damaged–like to learn. They have boundless energy and they like to see, go, play, help, learn. The Gospels should have that same impact on us.

    Regarding a new creation: I think for some of us that is an ongoing process. I cannot pinpoint a moment in which I became dramatically new or different (perhaps like St. Paul?), but there have been many lesser moments when something clicked into place for me.

    • HE can reverse that damage if we let Him – also part of the New Creation. You are very right on the ongoing process Melanie. I have heard the teaching on children in many ways. The curiosity, openness, and wonder. “Usually” they haven’t learned a lot of judgmental attitudes yet. Keep clicking!

  2. I would have clicked a love button if there was one. The devil was just having a hayday with me until I had time to stop and process what I was thinking and feeling.

    I am not the person the devil was whispering in my ear. I am a new creation in the Lord. My sins have been washed clean and I am really trying to have faith like a child.

    I also love the painting at the top. 🙂

  3. When those thoughts come…even if no prayer or verse will…just say “Jesus.” When my thoughts start getting dark I say, “I love you Lord” and end with a smile! You HAVE faith…you ARE His child Kristine! peace to you

Leave a Reply

