the past returns

Some days you just don’t know what to write.

Today – many thoughts and challenges yet a stray dust particle from the past floats in front of my face. Prompted by -YES- a quote.

Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy. Dale Carnegie

In 1996 I was fired. My first firing but I actually was glad. The same year – I found my new boss – Jesus.

My brother was in town from Alaska and talked about Dale Carnegie. He had read a book and I should take a class. He would pay!! Actually bro, mom and gram all chipped in for the training and came to “graduation.”

Every week I did the hard and difficult part of talking in front of others. I had given a speech at high school graduation as Salutatorian but this was even BIGGER KNOTS in the stomach. I later served as a graduate assistant and loved encouraging others. Much less pressure there!

I now find it a bit weird (but not really) that two days ago I went and bought ink refills for my Dale Carnegie award pens. I just remembered that as I typed.

When these rippling things happen – I say, “What’s up God?”

…it’s time for me to listen…

6 thoughts on “the past returns

  1. Father, speak clearly to Jude’s heart as she is willing and seeking to follow your call on her life. Sustain her spirit, provide her needs and grow Your joy and faith in her. Thank you for the example she shows and for allowing us to walk along side her on this journey.

    • Thank you Lord for the wonderful souls you have surrounded me with…even from afar. Bless them indeed! I’m so glad we can journey together Debby.

    • I took today off work to “play” in the yard…it was rough play of digging out ground cover under my giant hanging down pine….all came out easy, Body is worn but OH…my soul!! Felt like I was in the shelter of His wings with the long pine arms surrounding me.

      • I know exactly what you mean – being out in nature always seems to get us closer to God even if we are working in our yards
        Enjoy and God Bless

  2. “In 1996 I was fired. My first firing but I actually was glad. The same year – I found my new boss – Jesus.”
    I love this line. One bad thing led to a good thing. God is so cool that way. You are going to come out a winner, God is surely in your corner.

Leave a Reply

