dangerous things

sugar island 2009

The rest of this week I’ll be sharing from the book by J. Scott McElroy Finding Divine Inspiration: Working with the Holy Spirit in your Creativity.

I’m VERY excited for the weekend seminar!

I started praying only honest prayers. I didn’t pray “safe” stuff, but instead expressed real thoughts and feelings and asked for dangerous things – things that I really needed. I tried to really depend on His provision instead of taking care of everything myself and leaving only the “impossible” things to Him. I thought, If God is real and He cares about my life, then let’s do it! I decided to open myself up and ask Him to work, without setting up all my contingency plans in case He didn’t come through. By the way, contingency plans are one of the reasons why “it’s easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of God” (Matt. 19:24). Money can buy you more options. You may think you don’t need to depend on God because you have other ways to accomplish things. Jesus’ heart was close to the poor because they knew they needed His help! We need to learn this attitude in order to develop a listening lifestyle. pg 86

2 thoughts on “dangerous things

  1. I think the last part, about the poor knowing they need God, is why our friends have loved serving in Haiti. A place of desperation and complete devotion and reliance on God. Sometimes hard to find in our “blessed” country. Gives me pause, Jude. Thank you.

    • I have found many in Haiti and those in need have God in great measure. If we have more self-confidence and independence often there is less need or desire for God. I pray He joins you in that pause dear one.

Leave a Reply

