imagination

Do you ever close your eyes and get a picture of something that doesn’t go with your surroundings?

Maybe in the car at a city stop sign and you see a field of flowers.
In the grocery line you imagine a riverboat going along the river.

Some days I have way too many of those thoughts. Painting during worship has been taking a stray vision and putting it on canvas. I am used to a photo reference so its a challenge.

In prayer over the service we were talking about the Word of God – the Bible. I thought of it giving light…and saw the color yellow. I thought of it being living water and the depth it has. This water lily came to mind and I sketched it and went to prep. The words went first…then they were covered up with paint and repainted. Later I imagined WORD being part of he lily petals. That seemed a bit of a stretch but I put it in. It seems WORD should be bolder than everything else but instead it is hidden…maybe how God speaks boldly with nature yet it is hidden from so many. I’m not sure…

Painting live is certainly stretching me!

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.
Psalm 139:7-12

4 thoughts on “imagination

Leave a Reply

