head above water

Usually when you’re head is above water that means you aren’t going to drown. Some days I’m sure we wonder even if we can see the light…

I’m enjoying this new process of painting but often asking….

Does it tell a story?
Is it enjoyable to look at?
Do the colors invite you in?

…and many more of the questions. It doesn’t always matter. Art can be therapeutic and refreshing so I will skip over-analyzing for today.

But now, God’s Message,
the God who made you in the first place, Jacob,
the One who got you started, Israel:
“Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.
I’ve called your name. You’re mine.
When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you.
When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down.
When you’re between a rock and a hard place,
it won’t be a dead end—
Because I am God, your personal God,
The Holy of Israel, your Savior.
I paid a huge price for you:
all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in!
That’s how much you mean to me!
That’s how much I love you!
I’d sell off the whole world to get you back,
trade the creation just for you.”
Isaiah 43:1-4

4 thoughts on “head above water

  1. Judi, every picture tells a personal story to the one searching or looking. That’s the great thing about art. To answer your 3 questions: yes, yes, and yes. Keep following that voice calling you to share. You’re His servant, that’s clear.

    • the morning verses were from Jonah 2:5-9 The engulfing waters threatened me, the deep surrounded me; seaweed was wrapped around my head. To the roots of the mountains I sank down; the earth beneath barred me in forever. But you, LORD my God, brought my life up from the pit. ‘When my life was ebbing away, I remembered you, LORD, and my prayer rose to you, to your holy temple. ‘Those who cling to worthless idols turn away from God’s love for them. But I, with shouts of grateful praise, will sacrifice to you. What I have vowed I will make good. I will say, Salvation comes from the LORD.”

Leave a Reply

