revisiting

I was cleaning out some emails since my computer is acting up. A perfect day to read this again.

________________________________________
Reckless Passion for God
Posted: 10 Aug 2011 12:00 AM PDT

“David said to Michal, ‘It was before the LORD, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the LORD’S people Israel – I will celebrate before the LORD. I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes…” (2 Samuel 6:21-22).

Spending quality time with God will happen as we choose to pursue Him recklessly and relentlessly.

To some “reckless” may be synonymous with careless or irresponsible behavior, but in this context I am using it to mean obedience at any cost. I will be reckless in my pursuit of passion for God regardless of the cost or the appearance. In 2 Samuel 6:21–22, David purposed to celebrate before the Lord and to become undignified in the world’s view so that he could be more passionate before God. I choose to be utterly unconcerned about the consequences of my passion for God. To me, that is reckless.

Like ocean waves hitting the shoreline, I choose to be as relentless in my pursuit of passion for God. Failure cannot stop me. Public opinion cannot stop me. Lack of understanding cannot stop me. Just because the previous wave was stopped by the shoreline does not inhibit the next wave from washing the beach. Likewise, I will continue moving forward uninhibited. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Paul, in his letter to the Romans, said that no one or nothing could accomplish such a feat. I will choose to believe and act on that promise. I will passionately pursue God today regardless of what happened yesterday. To me, that is relentless.
–Taken from The Path toward Passion (Nine Disciplines that Connect Your Heart to God’s) by Dean Trune.

Lord Jesus, please give me a heart of passion to love You with a depth of intimacy I have never known. Help me to recklessly and relentlessly pursue You as the depth of my desire for You grows day by day.

Prayer Points
Read Ps. 91:1-2 and praise the Most High, the Almighty, the Lord, your God. Thank him for providing shelter and shade from the heat of spiritual conflict in your life. Confess those times when you’ve sought shelter other than that provided by the Most High. Commit yourself to simply resting in God. Ask him always to be your refuge and fortress in every life situation.

Pray for those who take the liberating love of Christ into prisons throughout the world. Ask God to bless those prisoners who have trusted Christ, but must remain behind bars. Pray for their safety and testimony to other prisoners.

–Prayer Points taken from Patterns for Prayer by Alvin VanderGriend

from Harvest Prayer email.

Leave a Reply

