you will have trouble

We seem to forget this warning of trouble in John 16 and think all should be rosy and well.

Yes, Jesus came to set the captives free, to save the lost, heal the sick, raise the dead and yet…some how He wants us to have also have peace?

Ephesians tells us to put on the shoes of peace….to walk in peace. When we have peace – we have a weapon.

His peace surpasses all understanding to guard our hearts and minds. He finishes His trouble talk with, “Take heart! I have overcome the world.”

If I had a formula for bypassing trouble, I would not pass it round. Trouble creates a capacity to handle it. I don’t embrace trouble; that’s as bad as treating it as an enemy. But I do say meet it as a friend, for you’ll see a lot of it and had better be on speaking terms with it. ~Oliver Wendell Holmes

A Bishop a few years ago said he doesn’t pray for strength anymore. That would mean he is agreeing with the battle. Our confidence in Christ should give us peace.

4 thoughts on “you will have trouble

  1. MichaelGreshaw says:

    Your timing for this little bit of encouragement could not have come at a better time. Thank you! I pray that you are blessed today.

    • Thanks Michael. Thank you Lord for the peace that only You can bring. Shower that peace over Michael and whatever he encounters. Let that weapon cover the door to ward off all that is not of You Jesus. Bless you and yours

  2. We’re on the same topic! I know to expect trials and tribulations. It’s discovering His path through them that encourages me. He does offer us peace and it is incomprehensible when it happens on a regular basis. I have so much to be grateful for. I lived many years before I found the peace He promises. I don’t take it for granted. Seeking His will in all things has been such an amazing change in my life. I’d say I’m on speaking terms with trouble, but we keep the conversations to a minimum!

    • It’s like the irritation of a dripping faucet. LOVE the minimum conversation!! Praise you Father for showing Your daughter the goodness life holds surrendered to you. Bless her as she shares that hope with others around the world. You are a rare jewel Heidi – shine on!

Leave a Reply

