eat your words

Words kill, words give life;
they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.
Message

The tongue has the power of life and death,
and those who love it will eat its fruit. NIV
Proverbs 18:21

How are your words tasting?
Do you celebrate others and yourself when you talk?

This isn’t about pride but how God feels about each of us.
We are made in His image and He called us very good!

Why do we tear down what He created?

God created with HIS words. We create with our words.

in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. Romans 8:37

Speak His words of goodness. We need to hear ourselves speak good – even about ourselves. In hearing we believe.

One of the greatest lessons I’ve learned for renewing my mind.

I think Joseph knew this lesson well.
(card hand embroidered by Haitian Artisans for Peace Intl)

7 thoughts on “eat your words

  1. You’re on my page again! I was just contemplating writing a post about how we talk to ourselves. I’m going to reread what you wrote and see where that leads me. Thank you for this.

    • God must want this to really sink in right now. It’s been hitting me regularly – when the junk comes, I’m throwing it out and speaking His truth out loud!

      Good thing I’m not in a busy office…

  2. I was sailing right along, nodding and yes-ing until you got to the “even about ourselves” part.
    “In hearing we believe”
    You’re so right.
    Reminds me of a C.S. Lewis quote that I particularly love but don’t always practice:
    ” If God is satisfied with the work, the work may be satisfied with itself.” (The Weight of Glory)

  3. Nancy Bouwens says:

    “we need to hear ourselves speak good -even about ourselves ” … this can often be the biggest challenge for many! wonderful reminder to consider our inner words as well!

Leave a Reply

