always giving thanks

Some of the biggest lessons I have learned as I work in other countries and surrender more of life to my Creator – I always have something to be thankful for.

Even if the volcano has shut down the airport,
I give thanks that God protects me and eventually brings me home.

There may be no electric or local store with ice cream,
I give thanks for nourishment that sustains and fruit fresh from the tree.

Circumstances might say I’m lacking in some way,
I give thanks I am His child and in Him – all my needs are met.

I came to Psalm 77 and David was doing some of his lamenting. The circumstances were bleak. We have all experienced them.

There is a need to get it out of our system – but he shows us how we can chose to have a renewed mind, a heart transplant by changing the focus…

I will remember the deeds of the Lord;
yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.
I will meditate on all your works
and consider all your mighty deeds.
Your ways, O God, are holy.
What god is so great as our God?
You are the God who performs miracles;
you display your power among the peoples.
With your mighty arm you redeemed your people.
Psalm 77:11-15

God is still in the redeeming business. He is still very active in bringing miracles to those who call on His Name. Jesus didn’t just die – He died so we could live…and live abundantly. How much more our Heavenly Father?

Thank you Father, Son and Spirit for redeeming us from misery. You continue to bring GREAT things all around. Help us to always be giving thanks.

Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. Eph 5:19-20

May each day show you His faithfulness. Have a blessed Thanksgiving.

2 thoughts on “always giving thanks

Leave a Reply

