what were they thinking

rooster1webCan you read peoples minds?

Sometimes people look at you like they can.

I’m glad I can’t – expressions and body language can be enough. I’m not necessarily encouraged God knows all my thoughts but I am glad He knows and still loves and forgives!

At this, some of the teachers of the law said to themselves, “This fellow is blaspheming!”

Knowing their thoughts, Jesus said, “Why do you entertain evil thoughts in your hearts? Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk’? But so that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins…” Then he said to the paralytic, “Get up, take your mat and go home.” And the man got up and went home. When the crowd saw this, they were filled with awe; and they praised God, who had given such authority to men. Matthew 9:3-7

Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk’?

Help us Lord to understand the authority You have given.

4 thoughts on “what were they thinking

    • Stops me to say….what does this mean for today Lord? What does it mean for me?

      Fleeting thought as I reply and think of the painting…..rooster – Peter – deny me….hmmm

  1. More and more my focus is on my reactions and my thinking.
    Because I’m SO inclined to avoid conflict, I learned to be a fairly good student of body language at an early age. Heidi and I taught about it for years – but if you’re skilled you can certainly hide your thoughts from all – but God.
    Just like you, there are moments when I’m dismayed that He knows them, because it doesn’t allow me to gloss over the unkind ones. But oh what LOVE! There is so much joy in being fully known and deeply loved. 😀

    (and, like Debby – I love your painting! Gosh, you are so good!)

    • When the not so good parts come – it triggers that immediate “sorry I was even thinking that Lord” – renew me again. AND He is faithful to do just that! Most don’t like the glaring rooster – a bit too intense! :O)

Leave a Reply

