receiving gifts with grace


If you get something you don’t work for –
it’s usually called a gift.

The best one I ever received, I tried to ignore for a long………long time. Grace.

I thought to embrace Jesus I had to DO and GIVE UP. You know…that long list of the Old Testament.

I was a skeptic but dared to say yes. The GIFT hasn’t stopped giving!! God’s grace is there even if I didn’t do anything else.

He took our sin-dead lives and made us alive in Christ. He did all this on his own, with no help from us! Then he picked us up and set us down in highest heaven in company with Jesus, our Messiah.

Now God has us where he wants us, with all the time in this world and the next to shower grace and kindness upon us in Christ Jesus. Saving is all his idea, and all his work. All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It’s God’s gift from start to finish! Ephesians 2:5-8 Message

19 thoughts on “receiving gifts with grace

  1. Peter Wiebe says:

    We can never earn it, never repay it once it is given, and never be thankful enough once it is received. Such is the nature of the gift of grace. What a Saviour we have!

  2. Thank you, God, for all your gifts!! May we open them and receive them with joy and gratitude. To you be the glory now and forever because of your love and faithfulness! Every good gift is from you, and you are the greatest gift!

  3. Awesome! I really appreciate hearing about God’s grace. It took me awhile to figure this out myself. Once I understood the definition, it all came clear to me that I could not earn anything. Anything I do is because the Grace I’ve received as a gift propels me into acts of service for others. I had it backwards before as well. I kept trying to do things that would move towards salvation. This did not work out well. Once I accepted the gift, I then understood my “good deeds” were merely a symptom of my salvation but not salvation alone.

  4. clayton paul says:

    Ah, yes. Grace IS the gift which keeps on giving! God is a BIG God…He is in, around, and through everything and everyone. By His will, everyone lives, dies, has blessings, hardships, and for the faithful, grace…

    He accepts everyone who comes to them in whatever place they are in life. But He loves us too much to leave us where He finds us! Extra comfort for the day…”I will never leave you, I will never forsake you…” (Heb. 13:5).

    Good post!
    Clayton 🙂

      • clayton paul says:

        Judi, I wanted to award you with the ABC Award because you deserve it. I just couldn’t find your website in my comments or followers section!

        I want you to know I have a “beat” on you now…I’m looking for the exact kind of award which fits your blog.

        I love your work and encourage you to keep on writing!

        Clayton
        🙂

      • clayton paul says:

        Good to know! Yes, I know the award acceptance take time. Some do choose not to accept them because of time constraints. I’ll keep that in mind.

        Nevertheless, your blog is award worthy! Keep it going.

        Clayton 🙂

Leave a Reply

