lightness of a load

anchor webHow often does your load feel light?

We may be having a very good day then hear of troubles for those we love. Their pain becomes ours. One of the hardest things is trying to share joy with others who don’t want it.

I was that person too. I felt so comfortable in my misery. I somehow enjoyed carrying a bucket of shame, self-pity, worthlessness and more. I still have days where those areas try to come back at me.

Today I think of these words….

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. Matthew 11:28-30

Trade that bucket you’re toting for His yoke…then let Him carry it for you. He came to bring you rest.

10 thoughts on “lightness of a load

  1. My favorite of this passage is from the Message. But in any form its message is the same and true: he bears our load. Thanks be to God for that!

    • “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matt 11 Message version

      Yes – the unforced rhythms of grace!!! He does abundantly more when we let Him.

  2. AMEN! Thank you for this. The scripture you used is one of my favorites and one of the first ones God used to draw me back to Himself. I have been thinking how we feel the lightness of our load in the new year…This is really what we have access to every day in Christ! He takes away our sin. He removes our past failures. He gives us a joyful, light yoke. Hallelujah! May we all take off the yoke of slavery and shame permanently and walk in the freedom, peace and joy Jesus came to give us.
    Blessings in Christ,
    Natalie

Leave a Reply

