the school of prayer

regain webA group is meeting to study and pray with Andrew Murray’s With Christ in the School of Prayer. My bookshelf received a good cleaning as I searched for my copy.

And it came to pass, that, as he was praying in a certain place, when he ceased, one of his disciples said unto him, Lord, teach us to pray. Luke 11:1

Jesus never taught His disciples how to preach, only how to pray. Andrew Murray

Many don’t want to hear you preach on any topic. To some it probably ranks up there with used car salesmen. Very few people will say don’t pray.

Thank you Heavenly Father for the simplicity You show us and forgive us for the complexity we add. Help us meet people where they are and come alongside where they need YOU in prayer.

–This is not aimed at anyone…it’s just a sentence that spoke loudly to me.

11 thoughts on “the school of prayer

  1. I’ve heard it said from people who have done prayer walks in neighborhoods or similar things, most people, regardless of religious beliefs or unbelief, won’t decline someone praying for them. Much to learn from Andrew Murray’s quote.

    • Somewhere in this journey I learned to pray asap vs just saying I will pray for you. So I try to pray with them not just for them. So much to learn everywhere! Let us receive more of Your wisdom Lord!

  2. Morning
    Judi when we bought our new property we ciricled the land 7 times during our prayer walk
    The power of protection – along with continual prayer – will keep evil at bay
    We can’t fix anything in anyone’s life -even our own – but we can pray
    And I know, my friend, you are a powerful “pray-er” – that is the best gift you can give in any situation
    God Bless

    • When I first bought this house I thought of putting the text from a song and Isa…”My house will be a house for all nations.” I had a passion for missions but never expected so many nations to come through the doorway. I never put the paint on the walls but did create a canvas with those words. May all the land God has given you bring an abundant harvest for Him. (I realize you’re not farming but He knows how to bring amazing fruit!) hugs to you sister.

  3. So good. Thank you, Judi…
    Lord, teach me to pray. Strengthen me in my inner self. Holy Spirit, pray through me! Make us, your body, a vessel of prayer and love. This is how your kingdom comes and your will is done. Let it be so! In your holy name and for your glory. Amen.

    • I was in the Murray chapter 1 again last night and it references Luke which does not show the “kingdom come on earth as it is in heaven” part. I had to go back to Matthew – I feel that is such an important part of His legacy. His glory in and all around you friend!!

  4. You are right that few people will say “don’t pray.” Sadly, I have one of the few in my life, someone who specifically told me she doesn’t need prayer and doesn’t want me to pray for her. Please pray for her, she really needs it. Peace, Linda

    • Heavenly Father – we come in agreement for this person, that You are part of the answer they need. Let your Spirit flow in and through them so they see the wonders Jesus has given his life for. We thank You Lord that nothing is impossible for You! blessings to you Linda

Leave a Reply

