gifts that matter

zRocks webOur church is stepping through 1 Corinthians. Recent weeks have been some great teachings on Spiritual Gifts for the edification of the body.

One of my passion areas is what many call Asset Based Community Development. Basically this is where you uncover the “gifts” people have and engage all to bring wholeness, unity and good to the group pursuing them.

We often categorize people and gifts. Whether we use worldly words or churchy words, ALL are needed as part of this earth dwelling body. I feel when we separate people with words like secular, believer, or other terms, we are not being very much like Jesus. He didn’t worry as much as we do about who he was hanging around with….

So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers, to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ. Ephesians 4:11-13

6 thoughts on “gifts that matter

    • I think your blog name says it even better Debby – LIVING it! Not just speaking it! This is the third year for me borrowing a mower. My neighbor says…it just sits so why not use it…so I fill it with gas on my return.

  1. I LOVE this painting, Judi. I’m at the seashore right now, and it really looks like something out of the ocean to me. Love you, dear sister! Thank you for being exactly who God made you to be. You are certainly an asset to God’s family and kingdom.

      • Thank you, Judi. That is very kind and generous of you. I will send some pics. The place we are visiting (St. George Island on the Florida gulf coast) is where we have come for the last 16 years. Mom found it back when I was in college, and we have loved it ever since…many treasures I am pondering in my heart as memories come flooding back and collide in a beautiful way with the present.

      • I’ll write more after I visit mom AND see your pics. memories do flood back to us…..hang on to those that are dear! bless you sister

Leave a Reply

