in memory

IM000574.JPGA very challenging exercise but I think some of you will find this worth pondering.

Imagine you go to a funeral…you enter and realize its yours, three short years from now. Four speakers from different areas of your life will be sharing about your story here on this earth……what will they say?
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey
Habit 2 – Begin with the end in mind

It was 11 years ago when I first read this book and did this exercise. It was intense then and also as I revisited this past week. We are not guaranteed any of our days yet we generally live as if the future should unfold fairly easily as we dream, plan, and go our merry way.

Back then I had a very good job that was paying for my college degree. I thought I knew where my life was headed and the impact I wanted to make…it didn’t go that way…

In prep for our radio time on this chapter I was reviewing my college mission statement. I am amazed at how we often limit our dreaming to the tip of the iceberg – God has so much more He wants for our lives.

Maybe you might want to take some time and imagine what you would like to be said about you.

Is your current life going to bring about those kind of stories?
Will peers, family, and friends be consistent on what they share?
Do you let people really know your heart and passions?
Are you living the dreams God has for your life?
…or only what you think you are capable of?

I’m feeling VERY challenged to uncover more of what He has in mind.

Survival Skills for Everyday Living is the radio show I’ve been invited to share on the past few months. We have a round table discussion on a variety of topics. You can listen online or to the recordings. We’ll be sharing the week of July 15 on our responses to this chapter.

3 thoughts on “in memory

  1. Morning Jude
    When I turned 60 my life was in turmoil – my marriage was floundering, we were losing our home, we both lost our jobs plus I was turning SIXTY
    I felt like I had let God down that I did not GET the purpose He intended for my life – showing His Glory through me –
    I strive to show God’s Light through my actions – I pray every morning that He will show me what He wants me to do for His Glory as He places people and situations in my daily activities
    Thinking of only living 3 more years – WOW – thoughts to ponder!
    God Bless

    • Hey Susie – That’s a lot of tough stuff at once. I’ve had some days I’ve really prayed and listened as I felt I let Him down too. It would be on some of those horrid days that He would tell me “We are celebrating you! Way to go!” And I’d go “What? This seems the worst day of life.”

      It would be a little easier with report cards but we have to trust in His love and His plans. Glad to see you with your hubby AND with your farm! He works all things for good! love you

Leave a Reply

