discovering planks

020yupo webI confess, I have planks in my eyes.

I’m finding them tougher to remove than slivers. I’m usually very adept with tweezers but not with chainsaws.

What really irritates you?
Do you have reactions you don’t like in yourself?
Is there a repeating pattern?

You might want to check for planks.

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite (ouch), first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. Matthew 7:1-6

14 thoughts on “discovering planks

  1. I love this, Judi. Thank you. Very well written…I’m not good with chainsaws, either! 🙂

    Father, you are the Vinedresser. Please come and prune us. Prune ME. Be gentle, Lord, so that I am not crushed under the weight of my sin. Take out by the roots things that have grown apart from and in opposition to you. I want to bear fruit for you! Please help me and help us all to BE your children and to love you and show you to others by how we respond to them and love them. Only you can do this. Our hope is in you, Jesus! In your holy name and for your glory. Amen.

  2. For some reason this made me think of PLANKton. 😀
    Drifting around semi-aimlessly, plankton are a food source for things like fish and whales.
    Those planks that drift around in my eyes are an unhealthy food source for critical thoughts and graceless attitudes. Timely reminder, my friend!

  3. So often I catch myself when I am upset with another person and then I stop to ask myself the why and I see that I can be said to be doing the same thing, and I realize that I am the one who needs to change.

    • Yes Lucinda – the only person we can really change is ourselves so it is best to keep evaluating our life more than another’s. Thanks for sharing – His blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

