a new ending

sketch alteredI found this stray sketch. I’m not sure of date or reason for it’s creation. So I’ve been looking at it with fresh eyes and asking what does this mean for today?

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. 2 Corinthians 4:8-10

In God, whose word I praise,
in the Lord, whose word I praise—
in God I trust and am not afraid.
What can man do to me?
I am under vows to you, my God;
I will present my thank offerings to you.
For you have delivered me from death
and my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before God
in the light of life.
Psalm 56:10-13

“Spirit of the Living God, come fall afresh on me, come wake from my sleep.
Flow through the caverns of my soul, pour in me to overflow…to overflow…”

Jeremy Riddle

2 thoughts on “a new ending

  1. I have a “bad habit” of writing sermon ideas, random thoughts, partial quotations, etc on any scrap of paper I can find and then putting them in my pocket. At the end of the day, as I empty my pockets, I’ll have all sorts of these paper scraps. I save each one as a piece of valuable something-or-other.

    The day comes when my heap of tiny papers gets so big I read through them and try to make some sense out of each one. I don’t often succeed, but once in a while I find something truly amazing and wonder why I hadn’t remembered it. Fresh eyes … and a bit of time … bring new revelation on old thoughts; the opportunity for the Spirit to create “ah-ha” moments.

Leave a Reply

