back to the journal

"Well Watered"

“Well Watered”

When is your favorite time of the day to journal or write?

Many would say in the morning with coffee.

My preference is the end of the day – with tea.

My journal used to be a very messy thing. Rehashing tough topics seemed to plant them in my brain. Somewhere the pages became a safe place to leave them in God’s hands.

A time to unwind, leave my cares behind, process feelings and questions from the day, and bring my prayers and focus to Papa.

Extra joy to hear this as I finish, “Sleep child.”
I know the day is complete.

We finish with these verses…

โ€œThis is what I want you to do: Ask the Father for whatever is in keeping with the things Iโ€™ve revealed to you. Ask in my name, according to my will, and heโ€™ll most certainly give it to you. Your joy will be a river overflowing its banks!” John 16:23-24

19 thoughts on “back to the journal

  1. Love the post…and the paintings. Reminds me of when my grandfather was teaching me to write poetry…we would write words down on a simple flip notebook and turn them into poems or essays. Happy times ๐Ÿ™‚ You wouldn’t happen to have any butterfly/ies paintings? I’d be interested in buying one from you ๐Ÿ™‚ Be blessed…

    • I have 3 of them Guy. 12×12 and I’ll send photos via fb for you. I think of your butterfly when I see them! My scrabble partner and I make up some stories with our words too. You can be creative anywhere! You are a blessing to many!

  2. Steven Sawyer says:

    You nailed it. My best time to write seems to be in the morning. With coffee. However, God has spoken to me at night after everyone else is in bed. Like now. It’s 10:39 p.m. Answering emails. Publishing my post for tomorrow. Sometimes I’ve even gotten up early in the morning, still dark, everyone else asleep and write something God told me. I love the end of the day too. When I get in bed I pull the covers up to my neck and thank God for his blessings that day, for loving me and for providing for me so graciously. Thank you, Judi, for this post. I always enjoy reading your stuff and always get something to take away. I’ll think about this tonight when I’m going to sleep.

  3. Aren’t you fancy with the crumpled paper background for your reply. Love that! Like so many things, my journaling hasn’t been consistent. Maybe that’s why I started blogging. In a way, it’s my journaling. I have a couple different ones going currently and yes, mornings (without coffee) are the times I know it will be done.

    • When I picked the theme I didn’t even know it had that until the first reply. Blogging is very much a journal. When I first heard about “blogs”, I thought it a very weird thing….I never imagined I would be doing this…or art, missions, and more – I shock myself! Hugs dear sister!!!

      • The joy is God is never surprised. He knew it all along. I love that. When I’m feeling lost and uncertain, not so much. I need to remember he is always ahead waiting for me to catch up.

      • clayton paul says:

        A good policy! One thing I’ve learned is that most of the time, people don’t want to read more than 400-600 words; most prefer about half that many…

        Yet readers want something fresh and thought provoking. That’s why we need to “tinker around” and experiment with material and presentation to find what works best for the people who visit our websites.

        Enjoy your day, Judi, and hope to hear from you soon.
        Clayton ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

