finding rest

peaceSome years the holidays keep you so busy you need a vacation to regroup. I’m thankful for some time to get some things caught up this year. And a joy to read again!

What do you set aside or stop when life is too busy?
It might be a good time to evaluate those priorities.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  Matthew 11:29

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God…” Psalm 46:10

Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know. Jeremiah 33:3

What a JOY Lord to spend time with You. To hear Your Voice, read Your Word and feel Your Presence – there’s no place I’d rather be!

9 thoughts on “finding rest

  1. Nice color choices for this piece, Judi. Soft blues and greens are where I most often land to lead my viewer into a peaceful state. I’m curious about your technique. The bottom left where you wrote the word ‘peace’ over what appears like ripples of water; was that accomplished by finger painting?

    • This is one of my encaustic pieces. Blue, yellow and white wax were layered and heated. I topped some areas with plain wax and then carved out ‘peace’ and used a serrated palette knife for the texture. Then more heat to soften the edges. This has a 6×6″ claybord base. The process of layers, heat, scraping and bonding are so like the story of our lives.

      • Wow! I am not familiar with that process, but I love it! It’s an excellent way to allude to the process of sanctification during the creation process. I’ve used wax in sculptures but never in a painting. I will have to try it out!

  2. You are so right…needing a vacation after Christmas…that has been my scenario many years! Thankfully, not this one. This post was “right on target”. Thank you, Judi. You have a beautiful ability to weave things together in a unique way. I am blessed by it!

    BTW, the Jeremiah verse is one I read yesterday and used in my blog post as well…LOVE when The Lord does that 🙂

    May the blessings of our Lord Jesus be upon you as you regroup and settle back into your routine with Him.

    Love,
    Nat

Leave a Reply

