read OR write

Early Rise

Early Rise

There are seasons when reading and writing go together! It’s been a time of reading off line for me.

A few months ago I heard someone mention the Mirror Bible and found the phone app. I like how Francois du Toit shares the Greek study following the verses. He has a way with words that brings extra laughter too!

Galatians –

MIRROR
1:9 Let me be blatant and clear about this: any gospel that does not emphasize the success of the cross is a counterfeit and produces nothing but the curse!
1:10 (In sharp contrast to the time when I needed letters of authority from the religious institutions of the day, endorsing my mission) God is my complete persuasion. I answer to him alone, not man. Christ employs me; I am addicted to his grace. Popular religious opinion will not influence me to compromise my message. (What is the point of an impressive CV, when your Maker is not even asking for it?)

NIV
9 As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let them be under God’s curse!

10 Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.

MESSAGE
9 Let me be blunt: If one of us—even if an angel from heaven!—were to preach something other than what we preached originally, let him be cursed. I said it once; I’ll say it again: If anyone, regardless of reputation or credentials, preaches something other than what you received originally, let him be cursed.

10 Do you think I speak this strongly in order to manipulate crowds? Or curry favor with God? Or get popular applause? If my goal was popularity, I wouldn’t bother being Christ’s slave.

One thought on “read OR write

Leave a Reply

