the story continues

Dreaming Fields

Dreaming Fields

A church is talking about how art “adds to the beauty”, as my friend put it, and asked if I could share something to display. “Dreaming Fields” is one that they used. She asked me to share some of it’s story.

For it’s first exhibition I used the words “This piece will show the beauty that surrounds us all but the intensity that comes when we find our passion and focus on it.”

It’s story, like yours and mine, continues to unfold.

A family friend saw a photo of this and said she wanted to buy it. It reminded her of her days on the farm. The freedom of the fields and the joy of nature. When dementia required her to move with family and live in CA, they allowed me to reclaim the painting. Mom and I went to CA to celebrate her 80th birthday in January of 2015. She knew people well but didn’t remember much more. In March, she passed in her sleep.

beauty surrounds us

beauty surrounds us

While this was displayed with its SOLD sign, someone saw it online and gave me a call. They were making a movie and the lead actress was portraying an artist. They wanted to buy this painting for the movie. I explained it was already sold. They came to my home that Sunday, saw my other work and I agreed to paint a smaller one making the girl blond. Somewhere in the movie are also the words, “Beauty Surrounds Us.” A copy was made to travel to Africa where they filmed scenes about bringing clean water to those in need. I was even an extra in art festival scenes filmed in my city. That scene was cut and later redone in LA area near where Ann moved to.

Last week I received a facebook invite to like the movie “Chasing the Rain” from the director. A time for the story’s next steps… and ours too!

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecc 3:11

4 thoughts on “the story continues

Leave a Reply

