adventure, anticipation, change, cold wax medium, encouragement, God is faithful, hope, living in fear, prophetic art, seeing beyond, trust

crossing the line

The Disciple – oil/cwm 16×20

In the midst of a busy season also brings what will be my biggest exhibition so far. Others may not realize it, but it’s intimidating and exhilarating at the same time.

Usually at the gallery I have 8-15 paintings. This will be close to 25 and include writings. I was also asked to speak which doesn’t seem as threatening as showing these more personal creations.

As I was asking the Lord what I might need to share in writing, a very strong message came.

“We all have a chicken line to cross.”

I laughed! God definitely has a sense of humor! I thought of this painting right away. The GOLD is waiting if we dare to take a step!

Ask the Lord today what line you need to cross.
It might be to see yourself as one who is already equipped and prepared.
It might be to know that God really does have good plans for your life.
Maybe it’s something that seems difficult like a phone call to an organization or company.
I pray that the kingdom courage you already have will rise up to meet you as you dare to step forward!

It’s not always a matter of success or great revelations, but often a matter of obedience to go where you are sensing God needs you to be. Momentum only comes from allowing movement. He can’t move with us unless we’re stepping out!

Some of my chicken lines this year.
Becoming a chaplain and not knowing where He wants that used.
Stepping down from leading our gallery management team.
Reseeding my lawn and hoisting 40 lb bags of dirt.
(At my age – wood chips are easier.)

3 thoughts on “crossing the line”

  1. In all my years, I never heard the phrase, chicken line. I had to look it up and felt embarrassed doing so. I have a lot of chicken lines going on right now. Knowing that I can talk to God about them is comforting because He can empower me with His strength. He understands me best and and doesn’t judge.

    I would love to see your work again.

Leave a comment